ABBREVIATIONS

APL : Above Poverty Line.

ADM : Additional District Magistrate

ADC : Additional Deputy Commissioner

ASDMA : Assam State Disaster Management Authority

BIS : Bureau of Indian Standards

BDO : Block Development Officer

BDMC : Block Disaster Management Committee

BMTPC : Buildings Materials Technology Promotion

Council

BPL : Below Poverty Line

BSF : Border Security Force

CBO : Community Based Organization

CRF : Calamity Relief Fund

CSO : Civil Society Organizations

CSR : Corporate Social Responsibility

CAFM : Community Approaches to Flood Management

CBFM : Community Based Flood Management

CBDM : Community Based Disaster Management

CBDP : Community Based Disaster Preparedness

DDMA : District Disaster Management Authority

DM : Disaster Management

DI : Disaster Mitigation

DP : Disaster Preparedness

DC : Deputy Commissioner

DMP : Disaster Management Plan

DRDA : District Rural Development Agency

DRR : Disaster Risk Reduction

DDC : District Development Committee

FA : First Aid

EW : Early Warning

FGD : Focused Group Discussion

FMC : Flood Management Committee

GIS : Geographic Information System

GBM : Ganges-Brahmaputra-Meghna (river systems)

GPS : Global Positioning System

GP : Gram Panchayat

GPDMC : Gram Panchayat Disaster Management Committee

GPDMT : Gram Panchayat Disaster Management Team

GoI : Government of India

GoA: Government of Assam

IAY : Indira Awas Yojana

ICDS : Integrated Child Development Services

IDNDR : International Decade for Natural Disaster Reduction

IEC : Information Education and Communication

INGO : International Non Governmental Organization

IRDA : Insurance Regulatory Development Authority

ISDR : International Strategy for Disaster Reduction

LIC : Life Insurance Corporation

MDG : Millennium Development Goals

MFI : Micro Finance Institutions

MGNREGA: Mahatma Gandhi National Rural Employment

Guarantee Act

NCC : National Cadet Corps

NDMA : National Disaster Management Authority

NDRF : National Disaster Response Force

NEC : National Executive Committee

NGO : Non Government Organization

NIDM: National Institute of Disaster Management

NPDM : National Policy on Disaster Management

NRHM : National Rural Health Mission

NSS : National Service Scheme

NYKS : Nehru Yuva Kendra Sangathan

ORS : Oral Rehydration Solution

OSDMA : Orissa State Disaster Management Authority

OBC : Other Backward Classes

PDS : Public Distribution System

PD DRDA : Project Director, District Rural Development Agency

PPP : Public Private Partnership

PRA : Participatory Rapid Appraisal

PRA : Participatory Rural Appraisal

PRI : Panchayati Raj Institutions

PWD : Person with Disabilities

RCC : Reinforced Cement Concrete

SBI : State Bank of India

SDMA : State Disaster Management Authority

SDRF : State Disaster Response Force

SEC : State Executive Committee

SHG : Self Help Group

SSA : Sarva Siksha Abhiyan

ST : Scheduled Tribes

SC : Scheduled Castes

SOP : Standard Operating Procedures

S&R : Search & Rescue

TSC : Total Sanitation Campaign

TF : Task Force

UNDP : United Nations Development Programme

ULB : Urban Local Body

UN : United Nations

UNISDR : United Nations International Strategy for Disaster

Reduction

USAID : United States Agency for International Development

VO : Voluntary Organisation

VDMC : Village Disaster Management Committee

VDMT : Village Disaster Management Team

WATSAN : Water and Sanitation

ZP : Zila Parishad

ZPC : Zila Parishad Council